Here’s to a new adventure….

23 Aug

"Chicago Skyline at Night"

What do you do when you find yourself in Chicago in the job market unexpectedly chasing a new goal and facing some new challenges? Why, blog about it of course.

This Saturday I went back for the first time to my Alma Mater, Drake University after graduating in May. I ended up going to one of my mentor’s fundraising events. It was a dinner and a live auction for Cornerstone of Hope Orphanage.  Although my mentor  had no idea I would be in Des Moines that weekend, to his surprise, I showed up to help out with the event with some of my friends-just doing some ushering and  some place cards as well as being a display girl for the auction. Given that this was exactly the kind of work I wanted to be doing-planning events, that is-I was happy to help.

Another one of my mentor’s heard my summer saga about not going to law school or doing the back-up plan of  the bridge year program in Spain, and my sudden entrance into the job market. Upon learning that my new goal was to get into marketing, especially event marketing and planning, she told me that whilst applying and networking, I should go to events and blog about them. Then, of course I decided that I wouldn’t just go to events, I would see if I could help out with them and then blog about them. As I began preparing for my blog, I expanded on the idea further to include any marketing ideas that I thought would be interesting.

I am so excited about doing this and I must say it gave me a much needed rejuvenated boost for my job search.  So as I await the pictures from the orphanage fundraiser and collect my thoughts on it, I just thought I’d get started with telling you what my blog was about. I can certainly say that the summer was good to me in terms of truly realizing that life is full of surprises and that nobody knows where their life will go. I find myself living in Chicago, crashing with my older brother and a year ago, neither me nor my family or my friends could have saw this coming.  So what do you do when you find yourself chasing a new dream and some new challenges? Well, apart from blogging, you give it your all and you learn to roll with the punches and you learn to be adventurous because life is truly an adventure!

2 Responses to “Here’s to a new adventure….”

  1. Nancy August 23, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Proud of you. Nancy

  2. DrakeUniversity (@DrakeUniversity) August 24, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Thanks for dropping by. 🙂 We’re glad to hear that you were able to reconnect with some folks on campus and have a rejuvenating experience. Your blog is pretty slick and you clearly have a passion for event marketing & event planning. Keep up the optimism and the initiative and we’re sure you’ll go far! Cheers, ~Drake U. digital media team

Leave a Reply

