I want to set the world on fire.

8 Sep

St. Catherine of Sienna said, “Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world on fire.”

Today I started to think about why I wanted to be an event planner/event marketer. I know that I have to start somewhere but I realized that the reason behind it was partly because I want to be hands on, meeting with people, bringing them together to enjoy an experience. But behind all of that, I wanted to do so because I want to help people.

Sure, almost everyone says that phrase-“I want to help people.” And some people actually mean it too. But in reality, I want to eventually go into planning events-fundraisers, dinners, sponsors walks, etc to raise money for benevolent causes around the world. This could mean different things but whether it means small grassroots programs for building schools, or  building orphanages, or empowering sustainable development programs, that’s what my final aim of event planning amount to.  In nutshell, I want to fight poverty through event marketing and event planning.

As I said,  I have a long way to go but I think sometimes it is important to not only know what we want but to remind ourselves why we want it. Whether I was going to go to law school this fall or in 2-3 years as the plan has changed to, my ultimate goal was always to end up event planning for benevolent causes on a global scale. Why? Well, I guess I believe it is my calling and I would enjoy using my marketing degree, my future legal knowledge, doing something I am good at and love to do, and of course, helping people.

What made me think of all this? Well today I came across one of my favorite “inspiring” songs: Sarah McLachlan’s “World on Fire.” The song reminds us what we can do, and ought to do for those less fortunate. But the song also reminds us that the world can sometimes appear to be on a despondent fire. You put fire out with water. But to put out this “despondent fire,”  your water should burn with a desire to share  your gifts, talents and love.

I want to set the world on fire through event planning and marketing with a strange combination of legal knowledge. So as you listen to the song, ask yourself (and if you want, let me know): “how do you want to set the world on fire?”

Leave a Reply

