Here’s to my first MsCareerGirl event…

21 Sep

For a month now,  I have been working on the staff of MsCareerGirl.com to plan tomorrow’s networking event. http://www.mscareergirl.com/events/

MsCareerGirl or Nicole Crimaldi is an inspiration to young women getting into their careers. Nicole started this as “her side” job a few years ago as a way to empower women through workshops, blogging and events that spark the interest of women in business.

So how have I been able to contribute to this one-woman carer army? Well, by doing what I do best: events coordination. Nicole, kindly gave me the title of “Events Coordinator” and my own MsCareerGirl email address (I was especially “geeked” about this).  So I have been helping with reaching out to caterers (which wasn’t the easiest), connecting with local businesses in Chicago, and meeting random people everywhere to promote the event. There’s been a lot of email marketing, social media marketing and a lot more word of mouth (my specialty).

Then of course I was able to execute some of her ideas, like creating a stream for the event tomorrow. If you’re a career woman not in Chicago, here’s the link: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/mscareergirlchicago. (If you are a Career woman in Chicago and are reading this, I will be expecting you to be there) 🙂 However, probably my favorite part of event management- “gameday”- happens tomorrow. Apart from coordinating the usual “pre-event” things, I will be administering the raffle, the gift bags and be in charge of streaming. A little bit in front of the scenes and a little bit behind the scenes, a good balance, I think. Plus I am also mentally preparing myself for managing for the unexpected, which tends to happen more often that not at events.

All in all,  I just wanted to do one final outreach to all the career women in Chicago: be sure to make tomorrow night a professional ladies evening! Although we have hit our target of 80 guests, we would love a couple more. Doesn’t matter if you’re single, married, 21 or 31, an artist or in corporate, we would love to see you there! We’ll all get a much needed talk on “personal finances,”  dinner, and if you’re one of the first 65 guests, a MsCareerGirl gift bag with goodies. Most importantly, you’ll  meet new business connections and girlfriends!  All for only $15. Register till 2 p.m. at  http://mcgconnect.eventbrite.com/?ref=ecount  but if you are one of those slow pokes it will cost you $20 at the door. Starts at 6p.m and its at Proof Chicago. Address: 1045 N Rush Street Chicago, IL

This is my first real event that I have helped plan in detail since I became the eventmarketingrookie so I guess I just wanted to let everyone know how excited I am! (Hopefully, I can get some pictures of my own too!). What are you doing Thursday night? And let me know what would make you go to a networking event?

Cheers,

Kovie

Leave a Reply

