Time to Mingle Around

3 Nov

Happy Thursday!

Brrrr…it’s a cold day in Chicago, so if you’re one of those lucky people down south or in California, I dislike you very much. Okay, just kidding. But I do dislike the cold weather and as I gather from most of my twitter, so do many others. But winter is coming and as one of my friends in college and I used to joke around -when it’s winter time, it’s time to find a nice winter coat- and we referred to the human kind, if you know what I mean. In other words, it is time to mingle around a little. Keep reading…

Like a lot of new Chicagoans, I have found that the best way to make new friends is to go to events-social, networking, sports-related, etc. Granted, this costs money so make sure to plan within your budget.  There is really no need to overspend anyway, because you can find a ton of free and low-cost events on your twitter search using  “#[your city’s name] #events” and I also take part in weekly chats on twitter that discuss events. Example: #ChiWeekly on Tuesdays at 8PM CST. You can also check out two of the best websites (in my opinion)  for local events in your area:  www.eventbrite.com and www.meetup.com. But let’s talk more about mingling around for now. Keep reading…

If you are in Chicago and are looking for more than a bunch of friends and are interested in human winter coats (and even if you aren’t), recently I have been made aware of www.minglearound.com. Put simply, Mingle Around hosts fun events in the city for singles of all ages.  Jill, the owner is also a new matchmaker. This Friday as in tomorrow, 11.04.2011, is a Mingle Around event-the “Nuts & Bolts” Party. It’ll be at the Houndstooth in Wrigleyville and starts at 7:30p.m. You can find out all the details and pricing here:  http://www.minglearound.com/Chicago-Singles-Events?eventId=397764&EventViewMode=EventDetails. You can also follow  MingleAround on twitter.

Lucky for me, I’ve got friends in high places (a.k.a I know Jill from twitter networking) and I get to take it easy VIP style at this event and just go for fun… and eventmarketingrookie purposes of course ;). Which means I will be letting you know how the event goes.  So have a great weekend (I hear the weather will be nice), and if you are in in Chicago, be sure to check out tomorrow’s  Mingle Around event and plan ahead for my November Save the Dates Below.

Cheers,

Kovie

NOVEMBER  “Save the Dates”:

1. 11-8-2011: 5:30PM. Legal Basics for Your Business-Networking for Women Entrepeneurs. | http://networkingforwomennov-efbevent.eventbrite.com/

2. 11-10-2011: 9:00PM WITS (Working In the Schools org) mixer @ @undergroundchi  |  http://www.witschicago.org/the-underground/

3. 11-11-2011: 7:00PM Dance_OutLoud @ BrownstoneChi |  http://danceoutloud.org/dol

4. 11-17-2011 : 6:3oPM Ms. Career Girl Connect @ ProofChicago    http://www.eventbrite.com/event/2322115510/efblike

Leave a Reply

