Traditional Office vs. Home Office

2 Dec

  VS

 

 

 

 

 

As every events person knows: location is key; it’s not everything but it’s key. Your event surroundings can easily put off or excite your audience. But what about your “work surroundings?” Are you a traditional office worker or do you work out of some kind of home office? Is your local coffee shop your home office?

Working in a small business, I have the freedom to work from home a lot of the time…which yes, is still my brother’s apartment. (Though that may change in the new year with things looking up)  MCGMediaInc though incorporated for three years now by MsCareerGirl, is officially launched and ready to take the digital marketing world on. We’re starting with a client in the Chicago burbs and for the last couple of days, we’ve worked out of their office. With my last post being about how to stay focused during the holidays, I paid more attention to how I worked this week and working in an office certainly has its advantages.

Working in the office kept me on track and allowed me to easily meet my goals. I was barely distracted and I was even multitasking by working on 2012 Ms Career Girl Connect plans, social media interacting, and reading articles related to marketing or social media. Of course, some days will be busier than others but in the office, multitasking was, well, less “tasking” than it was at home. Nicole and I both agree that when MCG Media is ready, a physical office might just be in store.

Don’t get me wrong. There are some things I love about working from home. It’s not like I have to be at home too. Sometimes I do go to the local coffee shop or Starbucks because I need the change of scenery. A huge factor of working from home is working on my own schedule because I am a night owl. Perhaps, it is when I like to think I perform my best work, perhaps it is just a habit, but if it can be done between the hours of 8PM and 2AM, that’s when I would like to get work done.

So, which works better for me? I haven’t decided yet.  If I had to pick, there would have to be a “Both” option. I suppose that’s what I like about the working arrangement I have now and the event planning and new marketing industry; there tends to be some flexibility. I have the freedom to go in by 8 AM when it needs to be done or do it at may own time, even if that means 8PM. Of course, commuting in a big city and missing all the stress that comes with that has it’s advantages but there is much to be said about having somewhere to go, which can make a difference in how you approach your day.

One thing’s for sure though, I like working with people and having people to talk to while I work. Which explains why Nicole and I tend to get more stuff done when we’re at the same location, whether it’s a traditional office or home office or coffee shop. So, maybe location isn’t necessarily the key in the “traditional office vs. home office” debate. Maybe it’s more about having people around vs. not having people around? What do you think is the key? What’s working for you and what would you like to change?  I WANT TO KNOW.

I’m starting to think that maybe it all depends. In my case, having people around is the key; specifically, maybe having the person I work with around, is the key. Yes, I love my boss.

Cheers,

Kovie

2 Responses to “Traditional Office vs. Home Office”

  1. Nancy December 2, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I like the new… such a space saver. I like the build your own desk at pottery barn, you can add pieces and take some away to fit your space. http://www.potterybarn.com/products/build-your-own-bedford-home-office-system-components/?pkey=cdesks-home-office

    • eventmarketingrookie December 5, 2011 at 10:34 am #

      Oooh I like the link Nancy! Thank you! I’m so grateful for your continuous feedback!

Leave a Reply

