What’s all the fuss about Klout? (And what’s with all the #Kloutbashing?) Part 2

8 Dec

If you haven’t read Part 1, you should! https://eventmarketingrookie.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/whats-all-the-fuss-about-klout/

I said last time that I would save my final thoughts for after I attended the #KloutChevySonic event (that was the # for the event on twitter). So here are 3 final conclusions about klout , the klout algorithm change and klout bashing.

1. People overreacted.  I found out at the event from another attendee that Google changes their search algorithm all the time. So just because Klout does not have the power that Google does, it does not mean they’re not allowed to do what is best for the tool. I’m yet to see a logical argument, and logical in the sense of using a system of reasoning to oppose Klout’s change. On that note, I am definitely open to learning about one. If there is one out there, please enlighten me.

2. All the bashing gives Klout more Klout. Tweeting, blogging, facebooking and online attacks on Klout are actually doing a good job of raising it’s profile. If Klout were insignificant, it wouldn’t be worth all the ranting and raving. If I were a betting person, I’d be willing to put money in on the idea that some people probably joined Klout as a result of all the complaining. Good job social media “experts,” I don’t think you meant to do that (Yes, sarcasm completely intended).

3. Klout does not define you or your online presence. I was relieved to find out that most people at the event did not think of Klout or their Klout score as the sum total of their virtual existence. Most people were pretty level-headed. They wanted a high Klout score but who doesn’t? Some may have even had a slightly “bruised ego” from it, but that’s about it. Like me, they like Klout and use it and are excited to see where it will go but getting all caught up in a Klout score? No thanks, we are Chicagoans after all, and we think we’re pretty important, Klout score or not.

So…what that’s the conclusion of my conclusion? The way I see it, you’re probably not being forced to use Klout so if you don’t like it, you can always hit the “virtual road.” And if you are being forced to use it, well, in the words of Maya Angelou, “If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it. Change your attitude.”

Cheers,

Kovie

Leave a Reply

