Dreams. What do I want from life?

13 Dec

Above is one of my favorite quotes for life…and death. Yesterday, I read an article about death (sort of) titled : “The top 5 regrets of those about to die.” It’s a good read and I highly recommend  you read it. (After you’re done here, of course.) http://addicted2success.com/success-advice/the-top-5-regrets-in-life-by-those-about-to-die/ Before reading it, I had started on making my vision board. I certainly believe in the power of positive thinking coupled with a belief that we all have a purpose on earth. Between these two activities-making my vision board and reading the article, it made me go into reflection mode. What do I, Kovie Biakolo, REALLY want out of life. Do you ever wonder and legitimately think about this too?

It’s so easy to get caught up in the mundane tasks of life that we forget we ought to have dreams and purposes in life. Well, at least I believe we do. As I made my vision board and tried to decide what I want out of life, professionally and personally (and especially professionally), I realized that what is harder than chasing a dream or living for a purpose is realizing that you don’t know exactly what dream to chase or purpose to fulfill. As in, I don’t know for sure what I want to be (when I grow up). I don’t know exactly what I want from my professional life. Or maybe it is that I have so many options, I am not so sure which one is “my calling.” You see, I don’t believe in just having a profession or job, I believe in having a vocation. I like marketing, I like events, I like media and social media. I also like education, writing and I like law (at least I like reading about it). I LIKE SO MANY THINGS!

The beauty of course is that I know that I don’t need to decide this in a certain period of time. That’s what life is all about, right? Figuring it out and making room for some adventures along the way. In fact, some of my best life decisions were made in an instant or “by chance” or I prefer, fate. Going to Drake, for example and dare I say, not going to law school this fall.

Going back to my vision board. For some reason, deciding on my personal goals  seemed a lot easier. I’m not really much of a personal lives “sharer,” but there’s a first time for everything I suppose. Here it goes: I know I want a big family like the one I grew up in. I know I want to live in London at some point. I know I want to travel to about 100 countries and I even know that I want to be a Zumba instructor for fun in the next year or two. The only certain professional goals that I secured is that I know I want to work with MsCareerGirl for a long time (wherever I am) and that I want to be a founder of a “cause” organization.

I am grateful that I have some goals and that I know some of what I do want personally. Work, after all, as they say, is a necessary evil. I guess I want whatever vocation I find myself doing as work in the long-term, to be a necessary good. The article confirmed for me that it’s good to have dreams, but not to just have dreams but to keep track of those dreams. Remember when you were a kid and you believed everything was possible? Did adulthood take that away from you? Well, don’t blame it on adulthood. You’re not supposed to lose your childish enthusiasm, remember? Adulthood should make those dreams more coherent despite growing up being difficult; it should make the path to those dreams clearer. If of course, we really want what we say we want badly enough.

I’ve heard (I believe from Grey’s Anatomy) that as tough as wanting something is, those who suffer the most are those who don’t know what they want. (I might be in this boat a little) But as I’ve also heard (from Grey’s too) life is not a spectator sport. So why is it that people go through their lives as if they are spectators? If you’re living, you’re in the game, not on the sidelines. Maybe those who suffer the most then, are those who go through their lives and don’t even bother to dream and those who have a dream but never even bother to chase it. I’m not saying stop everything you’re doing, quit your job or sell all your belongings and go for it (although if that’s what it takes, you might consider it) but for goodness sake, ask yourself: what do I want out of my life? Then write it down and go from there.

I don’t know everything I want. I might only know as I continue to go through life’s adventure and this year has certainly been one heck of an adventure for me. But as God is my witness, as I figure it out, I’m going for it. I’ve never been much of a spectator anyway. One of my greatest strengths is that I am competitor and I love to play the game.

Cheers,

Kovie

Leave a Reply

