Last Minute Holiday Gifts!

23 Dec

When I was in college, (all 8 months ago) I would complete a lot of my Politics papers (Politics was my second major), the night before or the early morning of the day that they were due. In my head, I’m a planner and so I was never quite sure how it happened. But between two majors, a concentration, several activities, a part-time job, (sometimes two), and a belief that I do my best work under pressure and between the hours of 10p.m. and 3a.m., it never really bothered me. Besides, other than a one page assignment that I still to this day do not know how I blanked on, I have NEVER submitted any late assignment. Still, just like my papers, I tend to leave my gift-buying till the last minute!  Do you? Well, read on.

Having family abroad, last-minute shopping doesn’t always work. So I leave it to the last possible minute. (Kidding…sort of.) This year I have been really good and actually got almost all my gifts last week. However, I have one or two last minute items to get, and I thought I would share some potential gift ideas with you. Why? Because I know I’m not the only last-minute buyer; I do work in event planning remember? Also, as all last-minute shoppers know, there are some great deals that you can snag that early-birds never know about. I guess sometimes the early bird doesn’t choose the choicest worm. Anyway, here you go:

Kovie’s Top 5 Last Minute Holiday Gifts

5. Winter accessories. Firstly, if you live in L.A. or down south, just think “accessories.” Believe it or not, most people will appreciate wearable items that matches their “style,” and if you want to be on the “safe side” of wearable items, accessories are a good choice. You have to be attentive to what their “style” is, so these kind of gifts will probably be for people you know well. One rule of thumb: Simple is better. Who is going to throw out a well-knitted white or black scarf? Nobody. That’s the point. For these, I say shop Express, Urban Outfitters or World Market for some great Holiday deals and styles. If you happen to be in Chicago, Akira always has great finds too!

4. Gift Cards. Gift cards have become a popular item, especially as a stocking stuffer. The key to giving a good gift card is that it is to a place the person will actually use it at. For example-and I do not advocate illegal downloading of music; I use Spotify remember?-but there are people who do it, and if you know the person does, they might not appreciate an iTunes gift card as someone who always purchases on iTunes. If someone is addicted to Starbucks, then yes, a Starbucks gift card is a good gift! Again, you have to know the person’s interests and then decide. I say shop at your closest Walgreens for a wide selection of gift cards. Or you can always go directly to the store, restaurant, coffe shop, etc.

3. Drinks anyone? For the drinker among you, (and there is always one) get them their favorite bottle or maybe one they’ve never tried before. Or perhaps a case of “Holiday”or specialty beer. While some drinkers tend to be all about “their drink,” most will be a little adventurous. I think getting a drink is really good when you add something to it. (This is of course, if you didn’t purchase the most expensive bottle of Brandy or French wine.) A book, especially one that they can enjoy while sipping their drink is always good. Or maybe a box of chocolate or assorted nuts. For drinks, chocolate, nuts and books, I say shop your neighborhood specialty store.

2. An experience…What do I mean here? Well it’s closely related to getting a gift card but this time it’s for something they will “experience.” This is easy to find because of all the daily deals sites where you can save money and also get them a good gift. Some ideas include a mani-pedi certificate, a massage, some cool fitness classes or maybe even a sky-diving experience, for the thrill-seeker you are shopping for. So if you aren’t signed up for Groupon, Living Social, Gilt City or your local daily deal site…do it. Now!

1. Cash. Contrary to popular belief, cash is a great gift. Perhaps this is just the recent graduate in me but if all my gifts were cash, I would not have a single complaint. Don’t get me wrong, I have loved just about every gift I have ever received. But I think I speak for a lot of young people when I say CASH IS KING. Why? Because when I receive cash, I have the freedom to buy whatever I want and when I want it. If giving flat out cash still bothers you, well, that’s why they created those Visa gift certificates/cards, right? Or if you think you’re not putting enough thought when you give cash, put a lot of thought into the card and the envelope that you put the cash in. Besides, after seeing  all those credits on your bank account because of all your Holiday gift purchases, receiving cash tends to be a blessing. My point? Don’t be deceived, people are seldom ever disappointed with Holiday cash. Period.

I hope this list benefits my fellow last-minute Holiday shoppers and anyone out there who still has a few items to pick up. I want to wish all of you a very Happy Holidays and a Merry Christmas!

Cheers,

Kovie

Leave a Reply

