Archive | 1:01 pm

New Year Resolutions

3 Jan

Now that we have 2011 in review, (and have hopefully learned a thing or two), we look to 2012 where many of us will be thinking about what our resolutions should be, if we haven’t already. The reality about New Year resolutions is that like any other goals (that we set at any time of the year,) it takes a lot of will and patience to achieve them.

Some people think that too much is made of goal-setting around this time of year. They have a point. Every new year we watch people around us commit to things and fail. Perhaps, we watch ourselves do it as well. So what’s all the fuss? Why do people even bother to make goals? Should we even make New Year resolutions?

Firstly, I think the fuss is that the psychological effect of a new year has a tendency to bring hope for most people. The “fresh start” that can sometimes be difficult to find or define at “any old date” is found in the spirit of a new year. Secondly, we bother to make goals because no matter where we all are in our lives, how successful or unsuccessful, how happy or unhappy, etc, we all think that there is room for improvement. And the truth is, as long as we’re human, there is. It’s not that one should not be happy or grateful for what one has, it’s that as long as we are breathing, we should want to be more than what we are. Or maybe not more, but different; better. Not only is there nothing wrong with that, it’s something good. Thirdly, we ought to continue to make resolutions to improve because we owe it to ourselves, our loved ones, humanity, and the one life we have, to give it all we have; to be the best versions of ourselves we can be.

Then, comes the hard part – working towards those goals. We’ve all heard what we ought to do – make your yearly goals; make your monthly goals from there; make your goals specific; limit them; write them down, and read them over and over. As much as I love lists and as much as I am a goal-setter, it feels like I have one list after another…

This year, I’m doing mine a little different and “compartmentalizing” my goals, like I do with my vision board. Here’s my example:

1. Financial Goal: Save 15% of my earnings this year. Have $0 credit card balance by mid-year. (Hopefully this will be possible but I might have to adjust when I incur my own costs of living). p.s. Here is a great article about setting financial goals – “Answer this before setting your financial goals.”

2. Personal Goal: Listen more and be more patient with people (no matter how intellectually-challenged I think they are). Refrain from immediately retorting to one comment or question (that I find annoying) at least twice a day.

3. Career Goal: Work 75-85 hours per week on MCG Media Inc, Ms Career Girl Events as well as other “regularly scheduled” job (that I am still deciding on/hoping for, I’ll keep you posted 😉 ) Make sure all timelines on events are followed.

4. Writing Goal: Continue writing twice a week on this blog. Conduct a bi-weekly posting schedule on MsCareerGirl blog.  Finish 1 of my “heavy” writing projects by November.

5. Health Goal: Continue eating healthy and a 4-5 day weekly workout schedule. Participate in three 5ks and two 10ks. (By April, CONSIDER participating in a half-marathon because let’s face it, once a sprinter…seldom a long-distance runner.) Get certified in Zumba by September!

I have a couple more additions to make in each category but I figured this is a good place to start. The thing about goals is that you have to make them for yourself, and how best you can work toward them! I am simply one of those people whose life is either in “sync” or it’s not. Thus, I prefer to work on one or two things in each area of my life. I do what works for me and if you want to try something different, this year, I highly recommend this format.  What works for you? What do you think about New Year’s resolutions? And do you have any tips for me or my goal-setting? Whatever your goals are, I suggest that you keep the following  famous Emerson quote in mind. Why? Because in it summarizes the kind of success all of our goals should ultimately lead us to:

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded….” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Cheers,

Kovie